John Ireland - Tritons • The Forgotten Rite • Mai-Dun • A London Overture • Epic March • Themes from Julius Caesar • The Overlanders Suite

London Philharmonic Orchestra
Sir Adrian Boult, conductor

Label: Lyrita
Copyright: 2007 Lyrita Recorded Edition, England
Catalogue number: SRCD.240
UPC/EAN: 5020926024022
Format: CD
Analogue / Digital recording: ADD
Number of discs: 1
Total playing time: 76.04
Price: £ 14.99 (+ postage & packing)

No recording information available for this CD

"For me, however, the stand-out track remains Boult’s wonderfully spry and observant account of A London Overture (1936), which is easily a match for Barbirolli’s almost exactly contemporaneous LSO version for EMI. The 1942 Epic March, too, glints with memorable defiance ... Considering some of these sessions took place as long ago as December 1965, the judiciously refurbished sound still packs quite a punch: sample the impressively full-throated horns at the start of “Night Stampede” (the last movement from The Overlanders). Altogether a very welcome reissue ..." Andrew Achenbach, Click here to read the full review

"The 1970s origins of many of Lyrita’s too long delayed CD revivals need hold no fears for any purchaser. The forty plus year old sound remains an object lesson taught by the analogue tradition to the digital era ..." Rob Barnett, Click here to read the full review

"I relished in particular Boult’s account of the wartime Epic March. Here’s an offering right in the tradition of Pomp and Circumstance and Crown Imperial. In fact, the noble and confident trio tune has Walton-esque echoes and is definitely none the worse for that. Boult’s performance has real dash ... Throughout the programme Boult conducts with flair and imagination and he gets excellent playing from the LPO. The recorded sound wears its years very lightly indeed and presents the orchestra most truthfully ... Though subsequent recordings have appeared from other labels and other conductors these performances are still required listening for all Ireland enthusiasts and their appearance at last on CD is greatly to be welcomed ..." John Quinn, Click here to read the full review

1 Tritons, symphonic prelude (c1905) John Ireland 10.29
2 The Forgotten Rite, prelude (1913) John Ireland 7.07
3 Mai-Dun, symphonic rhapsody (1920-21) John Ireland 11.23
4 A London Overture (1936) John Ireland 11.57
5 Epic March (1942) John Ireland 8.12
Themes from Julius Caesar (arr. Geoffrey Bush) (1942) John Ireland 6.45
6 Scherzo 2.48
7 Cortège 3.57
The Overlanders, Suite (1946-47) (ed. Charles Mackerras) John Ireland 20.07
8 1. March: Scorched Earth 4.39
9 2. Romance: Mary & Sailor 3.55
10 3. Intermezzo: Open Country 3.20
11 4. Scherzo: The Brumbies 4.22
12 5. Finale: Night Stampede 3.51